Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

A Christian Response To Recent Events

Recent events, including the recent Supreme Court decision regarding the definition of marriage, have really gotten strong responses from Christians, including myself.  Whenever these things happen, if you are like me, you start looking immediately for the best response.  I find that most often I want to do something,, voice a protest, vent my opinions and anger on social media, maybe join in a march or something.

But recently, I have been thinking, have any of these recent events taken God by surprise?  No, Jesus said that in the last days it would be like the time of GodsProvisionNoah, (see Matthew 24:37 or Luke 17:26) and if you look at God’s description of the world in Noah’s day from Genesis 6:5

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Things are getting bad, but I don’t think they are that bad yet.  But the point is, God knew things would get bad in the last day.  He even told us how things would be, so if we really believe that the Bible is truly the word of God, then the Supreme Court decision, or any other recent event, shouldn’t really be surprising to us either.

In reading Psalm 37, I got a lot of Godly insight into how I need to be reacting to events from a faith perspective.

Do not fret because of evildoers,
Nor be envious of the workers of iniquity.
For they shall soon be cut down like the grass,
And wither as the green herb. (vv. 1,2)

Okay, so I shouldn’t fret, but what should my reaction be?

Trust in the Lord, and do good;
Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness.

Delight yourself also in the Lord,
And He shall give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord,
Trust also in Him,
And He shall bring it to pass.
He shall bring forth your righteousness as the light,
And your justice as the noonday. (vv. 3-6)

I see three key words or phrases.  “Trust in the Lord”, “Delight in the Lord”, and “Commit your way to the Lord”.  So, with the world getting worse by the day, we need to be drawing ever closer to the Lord, which we should have been doing all along, but now even more so.

I believe that one thing God is doing in these last days is providing an opportunity for His true followers to show themselves for what they are, the true followers of our Lord Jesus.  The true sheep of Jesus’ pasture will follow Him, while the goats will find themselves drawn more and more to the world and its darkness.

Recently, I have found Psalm 37 to be a true treasure.  If you ask the Lord to open your spiritual eyes to what He is saying, perhaps you will as well.

Will you join me in reading through and meditating on Psalm 37 every day for a week?  And then perhaps extending your reading of the Psalm even further?

 

 

July 22, 2015 Posted by | Faith, God's Word, Godliness, Same Sex Marriage | , , , | 1 Comment