Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

A New Journey – Trusting His Word

I met with an old friend and co-worker today to discuss the possibilities of doing contract work, which is new to me.  Up until now I have only worked full-time.  He was able to share many insights and to get me thinking about thing I have not considered before.  I am sure his comments will be valuable as my job search gets underway in earnest.

 

I also reached out recently to a fellow believer who was laid off at the same time that I was.  He was saying that now, with the background noise of work being removed, he is able to hear the voice of the Lord much more clearly.  And he is right, work, especially on a job as demanding as the one we both held, can really interfere with our spiritual lives.

 

I sometimes wonder, when we give our lives over to our job to the point where it interferes with our relationship to the Lord, are we engaging in a form of idolatry?  If ind that thought troubling.

 

2014-08-27 17.10.51I am taking steps to begin a real job search, but I am not rushing into it.  I want to make sure that I do not do the same thing with my job search as I did on my last job.  Therefore, I am taking time to connect with the Lord, to study His Word, to pray, and to seek His face as He moves my life forward.

 

More and more, the Lord is asking me to trust Him.  His promise to those who are righteous is that He will not forsake us, nor will He allow our needs to go unmet.  See  Psalm 37:25.  Also see what Jesus says about putting energy into our daily needs.  He says, don’t!  (Matthew 6:25-34)

 

If there is one thing I have learned in knowing the Lord is that He is trustworthy, now it is up to me to trust Him and take Him at His word.  I do not need to worry about where my next meal will come from, or whether I will find employment before money runs out.  I need to spend my job search on my knees, and make sure that my next position does not zap me of so much energy that I find myself disconnecting from the Lord again.

Until next time, God bless!

A New Journey Journal Index

August 27, 2014 - Posted by | Christian, Faith, God's Grace, God's Word | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. […] A New Journey – Trusting His Word […]

    Pingback by A New Journey « Worship The Lord Jesus | March 16, 2015 | Reply

  2. Thanks for being so transparent! While it is so sweet to trust in Jesus, the sweetness doesn’t mean without challenge! Be encouraged, He is the Faithful One. I have quite a few posts from when I was in a season similar to yours. Feel free to check them out. 🙂 God bless you!

    Comment by Crystal Davis | September 30, 2014 | Reply

    • I can definitely vouch for what you are saying about challenges! Thanks for the encouragement, sometimes I really need that.

      God bless you too,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | October 3, 2014 | Reply

  3. John, you are blessed to be in a position to trust Him and witness of His grace during this time.
    I pray that will know His Lordship and His peace. Fran

    Comment by francesrogers | September 1, 2014 | Reply

    • God proves Himself faithful every day. I will trust in His word and not in what the world is showing me.

      Comment by johnconstitution | September 10, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

