Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

A New Journey – Tongues, Really?

Holy-Spirit-Fire-in-RedAs I write in this journal, I guess that I should try to define what this journey is all about.  Where is it headed, for instance?

 

But that’s just it, I don’t know exactly where it is headed, but I do know Who is directing it, my Lord, Jesus.  Literally, the only one I would trust with the direction of my life.

 

I see this journey, and what I hope to journal, as being split into two areas.  First, there is the physical aspect, which began last Thursday when I worked my last day on my job and will continue at least until I find other employment or learn of the Lord’s purpose otherwise.  But then there is the spiritual aspect which began earlier, even before my salvation, and will continue until the day I meet the Lord face to face.

 

So, I  had decided yesterday what I would write about today, one of the passages upon which I draw my trust in the Lord in times such as these, but it seems the Lord had other plans.

 

During prayer this morning I  searched for information on the baptism of the Holy Spirit.  There are two trains of thought on this subject, one says that when we are saved and the Spirit comes to abide in us, that this is the baptism referred to.  The other says that there  is a baptism which may occur at salvation or it may occur later, where the Spirit not only infills, but basically submerses the believer in the Spirit.  This baptism is often accompanied by speaking in tongues.  I was reading about this as a result of my search in this article:

The Baptism In The Holy Spirit

Reading this article reminded me of a time, long ago, when I felt that I had received this separate baptism.  I spoke in tongues, never publicly, but as a prayer language in private.  But then, for reasons that I will not go into at this time, we stopped attending the church where I had received this baptism and started attending a church that held to the first view of baptism, that the only baptism occurs at the time of salvation, and that the other view was actually a false teaching.  I resisted this view for a while, but over time I used my prayer language less and less, until finally I stopped altogether.

 

And that was the beginning of a spiritual slide for me.  As time went on, I found myself less and less able to resist the call of the world.  I even fell back into alcoholism, which the Lord had given me victory over for years.  This was a bad time in my life.  I was not walking with the Lord, and I was in constant spiritual defeat.

 

It was not until I lost my job in 2010 that I began to call on the Lord again and turn my life around.  Those months of unemployment were a time of serious spiritual renewal for me.  In those months I learned to put my trust fully in the Lord and not to lean on my understanding, resources, or abilities.  And the four years since that time of unemployment has been a time of an ever-deepening relationship with the Lord.

 

But I never spoke in tongues, not even in my time of private prayer.  That is, until today.  As I read the article it all came back to me, how strong I had been in the Lord before, and how I had slowly declined in strength after I stopped using tongues in my private prayer.  As I began to realize what had happened to me, I fell on my knees tearfully before my God and began to praise Him for all that He had done, for all that He is, and for showing me where I had fallen short in my walk with Him, and to thank Him for His gifts, first for renewing my baptism after so long a time, and for the gift or gifts that He promises that we might spread the Gospel with the full power of the Holy Spirit.

 

What the Lord revealed to me today opens a whole new realm to me, one that was closed, (by me) for a very long time.

 

From the moment I learned that I wold be laid off I knew in my heart that this was going to be a time of intense spiritual growth, and even these first few days have proven that to be the case!  With reverence and awe, I look forward to what the Lord has in store for me next!

Until next time, God bless!

A New Journey Journal Index

August 21, 2014 - Posted by | Baptism, Christian, Holy Spirit | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] A New Journey – Tongues, Really? […]

    Pingback by A New Journey « Worship The Lord Jesus | August 21, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

