Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

If I Firmly Believed…

Church Building“If I firmly believed, as millions say they do, that the knowledge and practice of religion in this life influences the eternal destiny of others, then religion would mean everything to me. I would cast away earthly enjoyments as dross, earthly cares as folly, and earthly thoughts and feelings as vanity. Religion would be my first waking thought and my last image before sleep sank me into unconsciousness. I would labor in its cause alone. I would take thought for the morrow of eternity alone. I would esteem one soul gained for heaven worth a life of suffering. Earthly consequences would never stay my hand nor seal my lips. Earth, its joys and its griefs, would occupy no moments of my thoughts. I would strive to look upon eternity alone and on the immortal souls around me, soon to be everlastingly happy or everlastingly miserable. I would go forth to the world and preach in season and out of season, and my text would be, “What shall it profit man if he gains the whole world and loses his own soul?”

–Written by a professing atheist in 1787

If we are in Christ, we should share His burden for the lost and be moved out of our pews in Church and into the streets or wherever the lost are found.

April 26, 2014 - Posted by | Christian, Evangelism, Faith, Great Commission | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. […] Read more…  of this short quote (it’s only one paragraph) and allow this challenge from an atheist in 1787 to inspire us to examine our hearts today and see whether or not we are living up to what we profess to believe. […]

    Pingback by A Challenge from an Atheist (1787) | Paper Gifts for Estefany | August 30, 2014 | Reply

  2. Thanks John. I will be sharing this with my readers sometime over the next couple of weeks.

    Comment by PaperGiftsForEstefany | August 21, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Andrea (I checked out your blog 🙂 ),

      I hope that you find some things of interest and value in my blog. Ad when you do, I am always pleased when a reader will share with others.

      God bless,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | August 21, 2014 | Reply

  3. […] If I Firmly Believed… […]

    Pingback by Commonplace Holiness Blog | May 5, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

