Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

Good Friday Reflections

Today is Good Friday, the day when Christianity traditionally remembers the passion and sacrifice of our Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ.

I have been pondering some of the circumstances that occurred around this time. First, after Jesus raised Lazarus from the dead, a Jewish council decided to ignore this most notable miracle and plotted to kill Jesus instead.

I thought, how tragic it is that the council could be so caught up in their own self-interest that they would decide on this course of action rather than seeing events for what they were.

And then, there was a string of events that occurred while Jesus was on the cross: The earth was darkened for three hours, and when He died there was a great earthquake. And most notable of all, the Temple veil that separated the Holy Place from the Holy of Holies, was torn in two.

One might think that someone might take this as a sign maybe that something unusual, even unique, had just taken place.

But no, these events were ignored, and blind self-interest was the order of the day.

And I wonder, am I guilty of blind self-interest? And if I am, how would I know?

Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139: 23-24

April 18, 2014 - Posted by | Christian, Faith, Good Friday | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

