Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

I Am The Pearl

I am currently reading the book, “The Romance of Grace”, by Jim McNeely III, where, at one point, the author quotes Jesus’ parable of the Pearl Merchant:

Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls. When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it., Matthew 13:45,46

The author points out that the merchant is God, seeking the finest pearls.  When He finds one, His desire for that pearl is so great that He is willing to sacrifice everything for it, even giving His own life as the only satisfactory price of redemption.  That is how much God loves me, because I am the pearl He seeks.  And, so are you!  That is why John 3:16 says:

For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

I am reminded of a verse from the song, “Above All”, by Michael W. Smith:

Crucified, laid behind a stone
You lived to die, rejected and alone
Like a rose, trampled on the ground
You took the fall and thought of me
Above all

He thought of me, above all.  He considered my life, even before His own.  I can’t even comprehend love like that.

What a love like that does though is encourage a response of love in kind.  I find I want nothing more than to express His love in my life, toward Him, and toward others.

March 7, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

12 Comments »

  1. Hi John,

    Just checking in with you.
    I see that you are still yet holding on in the midst of the battlefield for the Lord.

    I pray all is well.

    God bless and I love ya my brother.

    Debra

    Comment by Minister Aiken | April 10, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Debra,

      Yes, I’m holding strong in the battle, the Lord is our strength and our victory! Many family matters are keeping me from blogging much currently, but everything is going well. I definitely appreciate your keeping in touch.

      May God bless all that you do!
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | April 11, 2013 | Reply

      • Amen John!

        Good to hear that you are still holding on in spite of.
        May God richly bless you in all that you do John.

        Truly, you are sent from God for such a time as this.

        God bless and I love you my brother.

        Debra

        Comment by Minister Aiken | April 11, 2013 | Reply

  2. Reblogged this on shaynroby and commented:
    Jesus loves us all like we are that perfect pearl.

    Comment by Shayn Roby | April 9, 2013 | Reply

  3. Awesome post. Reminds me of the verse Romans 8:15 -For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father”
    That song by Micheal W. Smith is amazing. We often play it at church as we celebrate Communion. It was such a dear price for God to send His one and only Son for us. We cannot express enough gratitude.
    Actually, I just wrote a short blog post on Romans 8:15 earlier, which is quite relevant, I think. I would love it if you checked it out.
    God bless.

    Comment by Reilly Irvine | April 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you very much for stopping by and for adding your comments.

      I have found that the more deeply understand our Lord’s sacrifice on our behalf and the depth of the love He has for us, the more deeply devoted I become to Him and the more passionately I desire to do His will.

      I will check out your blog post, thanks for alerting me to it’s presence.

      God bless you in all that you do,
      John

      Update: When I click on your name I am taken to http://reillyirvine.wordpress.com/ but the blog does not seem to be there. Do you have an updated URL for your blog? Thanks!

      Comment by johnconstitution | April 8, 2013 | Reply

  4. Thanks for sharing this John. Beginning to make Jesus the center of my life. This post helps. Bless you

    Comment by Kafui | April 5, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Kafui,

      I’m really glad you stopped by. Your comments are a blessing to me. I am glad to hear that the Lord is working in your life and making Himself known to you.

      Our Lord’s love, as we understand it better and better, is truly irresistible. As I learn the depth of His love for me, my desires turn from this world and I really begin to focus on His will for me. Pleasing Him becomes the most important thing in my life.

      I borrowed the idea of being the pearl from a book called “The Romance of Grace”, by Jim McNeely. More than any other, this book taught me about the depth of the Lord’s love. If your desire is to make Jesus the center of your life, I highly recommend this book as a great place to start.

      God bless you in all that you do, and may you fully comprehend His love,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | April 6, 2013 | Reply

  5. Amen! Yes, I am the pearl. God’s love is so amazing. I pray that every one encounters this love.

    Comment by tsaone gontse | March 7, 2013 | Reply

    • God’s love *is* amazing! May all who will hear His call be blessed by it eternally!

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

