Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

Why Do Some Christians Say “God Hates Homosexuals”?

God Hates Homosexuals!

Or at least, that is the impression you might get from listening to certain Christians.

This post is inspired by a conversation I had on Twitter yesterday with Jennifer, a lesbian woman, and an atheist.

I have to admit, the conversation was tense at times.  Jennifer’s attitude sometimes is that with so many Christians, Conservatives, and others against her, her best defense is a good offense.  And, for a time, I was caught up in the same posturing.  We went back and forth like this for awhile, neither one really listening to the other (or so it seemed to me) but responding to what our idea of the others position must be from past experiences.

But then, something changed, and we began to hear what the other was saying.  Jennifer, I believe would like to see two changes in her life.  First, she would like to not be judged by others, and second, she would like for Government, to stop passing laws that restrict her freedom to live as she chooses.  And really, is it not the desire of all to be left to live in peace and security?

For her part, Jennifer learned that I do not judge her for her lifestyle, nor do I have any interest in what she does with her body, or with whom.  In fact, as I related to her, one of my wife’s and my best friends is a young lesbian woman who considers us to be second parents to her.  Her name is Courtney.

I apologized to her on behalf of Christians who tell her that God hates homosexuals or LGBT people (Lesbian/Gay/Bi-Sexual/Transgender), and assured her that I do not believe that way, because it is not the way of Jesus, who Jennifer admires, by the way.  She said that she accepted my apology, and I believe that she was sincere.

I could not help but remember the story in the Gospel of John, at the beginning of chapter 8, where a woman caught in the act of adultery was brought to Jesus by the Pharisees.  The self-righteous Pharisees wanted to stone her, but Jesus, who had never commited a sin in His life told them, “Let him that is without sin cast the first stone at her”.

So, here is my question to all Christians:  Are we going to behave as the self-righteous Pharisees?  And not just toward gay people, but toward all people whose behavior we consider sinful?  Or are we going to be followers and emulators of our Lord Jesus Christ?

Are we going to better carry out the Lord’s work by acting as vinegar?  Or as honey?

May 6, 2012 - Posted by | Christian, Forgiveness, God's Grace | , , , , , ,

54 Comments »

  1. I was very happy to find this site. I wanted to thank
    you for ones time for this wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every
    part of it and i also have you bookmarked to see new information
    in your blog.

    Comment by palani | May 13, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you palani, I really appreciate the encouragement.

      May the Lord bless you in all that you do for Him!

      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | June 6, 2013 | Reply

  2. John, now I read your blog. Christians like yourself make me feel at ease and understanding that there are those that are turly faithful and can speak of the Lord yet does not try to push their faith of others forcefully (from my own insight). It is individuals like yourself that the religious world needs plenty of and the television evangelical world needs. My faith in god may not be as strong as your weakest day, but I believe that anyone can believe in God and worship God however and wherever they feel the need.

    thank you John for being an impressive Christian in my eyes.

    Comment by mgregory | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • I understand your words, but let me be the first to assure you, they are undeserved. In my quest to be a follower of my Lord Jesus Christ, I can only say that I fail more often than I succeed. If any credit is due, it is due Him for making me what I am, not that I gave Him much to work with.

      Comment by johnconstitution | June 5, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] God Hates Homosexuals! (mylordisjesus.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailDiggLinkedInRedditStumbleUponPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Gay, Lesbian and Transgender, Life, Our Country, Religion and tagged Bible, Bible Study, Christianity, Gay, God, Human, Lesbian, Religion & Spirituality, Ten Commandments, Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain, transgender. Bookmark the permalink. […]

    Pingback by Thou shalt not judge. Go to Hell!!! | Taste of Ignorance in America | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • I hope that the person who used this post as the basis for his rant against God and Christians will remember to read articles before reacting in the future.

      I left a comment on his blog also, and just in case he decides to delete it, I will post my comment here as well, complete and unedited.

      —————————————————–

      It is obvious by your comments that you did not even read my article. I did not judge, nor does God. Of course, if you had read the article, you would have known that.

      Now, let’s see if you have the nerve to leave this comment without editing it.

      You know, the God whom you rail against died on the cross in order to pay the price for my sins, just as He did for yours. There is no difference between us, and I am far from perfect, even as I suspect you are.

      But the point is, there is no condemnation from God, your sins are forgiven, and there is no condemnation from me either.

      God’s greatest wish is to be reconciled with you, why not accomodate Him?

      Comment by johnconstitution | June 5, 2012 | Reply

      • I am not quite sure if you actually read my blog John, because I do not recall ranting against God was so ever.

        Comment by mgregory | June 5, 2012 | Reply

        • As noted below in my retraction of my above comment which you are replying to (confusing enough?), I am all too human and all too fallible. In my meanderings in social media I have come across many LGBT and atheists who are all too eager to lump me, as a Christian, in with the very worst of judgmental people who claim that God hates this person or that group simply because they are different.

          I don’t, but what I do do from time to time is assume (and we all know where that leads) or jump to wrong conclusions based on past experiences rather than on truly listening to what is being said.

          Comment by johnconstitution | June 5, 2012 | Reply

          • LOL yeah confusing is it not? Assumptions are the root of most evil, I myself assume at times too. My blog was actually in response to pastor somewhere in one of the Bible belt states (video I think is on YouTube) where he is preaching about putting all the LGBT’s in fenced yards and either kill them or starve them to death. I may not worship like the true faithful, but I do know that God would never want that type of condemnation bestowed upon someone. It is simply appalling that there are some out there preaching the word of the Lord yet at the same time, speaking with a forked tongue of the Devil.

            John, we are all entitled to our opinions and I appreciate your comments. Hope to keep a peaceful debate with you in the time to come 🙂

            Comment by mgregory | June 5, 2012 | Reply

          • In reply to mgregory, post stating “LOL yeah confusing is it not?”, sorry, ran out of reply levels.

            I am in total agreement with you, such preaching is appalling to me as well.

            I am not sure what your belief is, but I am led to believe that when Jesus died on the cross, all sin for all people was judged and forgiven by God. In other words, Jesus paid the entire price for ALL human sin. When He said, “It is finished”, He meant it!

            Since Jesus’ death on the cross, God has not dealt with man on the basis of sin and the need for forgiveness, He has dealt with us on the basis of faith in the finished work of His Son, and the restoration of human life.

            In my own opinion, to judge another for their sin is tantamount to setting ourselves as a higher Judge than God. I’m not sure about anyone else, but that is not a position I ever want to find myself in.

            And like you, I would also welcome a peaceful debate or dialog with you in the future.

            Comment by johnconstitution | June 5, 2012 | Reply

      • Well, it seems your all too fallible blog host has made an error and jumped to an incorrect conclusion regarding the above pingback. I have offered my apologies to the author, and I hereby retract my above comment.

        God bless us all.

        Comment by johnconstitution | June 5, 2012 | Reply

  4. Thankful acceptance of God’s forgiveness wont bring eternal life. There must be real remorse, a heart felt apology to God, with a request to be his child, a complete change of behavior and a public profession of faith followed by a lifestyle change. Its the visible appearance of fruit in one’s life that proves salvation happened.

    Comment by sarah | May 19, 2012 | Reply

    • So many works required for salvation? What you have outlined seems to be a very common religious prescription for salvation by the grace of God plus the works of man, but such a plan is of men, and not of God.

      Check out Ephesians 2:8-9 where Paul states that salvation is the gift of God. It is not of man, lest anyone should boast.

      Any so-called plan of salvation that requires man’s works in addition to the finished work of Jesus on the cross is not biblical, and will in fact only lead to continued bondage to sin.

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 19, 2012 | Reply

      • I am intrigued by your point of view, but a gift is not yours until you accept it and open it to fully understand your prize. Its not the works that matter, its the emotional response inside.

        Comment by sarah | May 19, 2012 | Reply

  5. Its import to love her with the truth and with conviction which the holy spirit brings. Jesus loves the person, but despises the sin and it is sin. There is not a single example of homosexuals serving God and being blessed and used by God. In fact, its the opposite. There are clear examples as to how God felt about sodomy, he destroyed a city full of sinners interacting in the sin of sodomy.

    Comment by sarah | May 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, I agree that we are to love sinners, just as we are to love everyone, with the unconditional love of God. I find that my perspective on sin is somewhat different from what is taught in many churches today however.

      Has God forgiven, through Christ’s work on the cross, all of my sins, past present, and future? My answer is yes.

      Has God forgiven the sins of the unbeliever, past present, and future? And again, my answer is yes, and this view is strongly justified in the scriptures.

      If then, God, through His love for humanity as expressed by the sacrifice of my Lord Jesus Christ, has forgiven all sin, not just the sins of those who already believe, but all sin, then all that is left for me to do is to love others as myself.

      I do therefore love with the truth the Holy Spirit brings, but not with conviction, for He brings none. Rather than presenting the unbeliever with the horror of their sin, I present them with the reality that their sin, whatever it may be, is already forgiven, and that the only thing between them and eternal life is their thankful acceptance of what Christ has done.

      Thank you so much for your comments Sarah, and God bless you!

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 19, 2012 | Reply

      • I am afraid I must disagree with you. In Romans God Cleary explains that the “Gift” of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ. Thus justifying the need for receival. We must receive the gift of forgiveness by asking and realizing the remorse of our actions. This gift is not assigned to us, it is a clear choice of free will.

        Comment by sarah | May 19, 2012 | Reply

        • Well, I’m not sure what it is that you disagree with exactly, because I agree with your statements 100% and said nothing, at least not intentionally, to contradict them.

          God bless!

          Comment by johnconstitution | May 19, 2012 | Reply

  6. We don’t hate the sinner John whatever their sin is, we have all sinned, we hate their actions and lifestyle, Jesus said to the woman caught in Adultery the same as He tells all of us, to go and sin no more, is that possible, Jesus would not have said it if it wasn’t and He does not lie, if He tells us He has set us free from sin’s control He has.

    John 8:11 She said, No man, Lord. And Jesus said unto her, Neither do I condemn thee: go, and sin no more.

    John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

    Romans 8: 8 There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

    blessings
    Ron

    Comment by Ron | May 9, 2012 | Reply

    • I don’t disagree with what you are saying Ron, but you seem to be talking about those who are saved, I am talking about ministering to the lost, that they may become saved.

      God bless,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 9, 2012 | Reply

      • Unless I am mistaken, the woman at the wall was lost.

        Here’s the thing: I have always had gay friends, including some who are “married”. My libertarian side is not concerned. Nor is my Christian side, except for this: while I do not doubt the sincerity of some I cannot help but see the whole “gay marriage” push as an attack on basic American institutions. I have known and been around the gay liberation movement since the 1970s. I have had good friends in that world die of AIDS. I know whereof I speak. The tenor is not to elevate gays who want to marry but to degrade the institution of marriage itself. That — and not whatever commitment two people want to make to each other — is what troubles me. As for the rest, God alone sits in judgment.

        Comment by UnrepentantCurmudgeon | May 11, 2012 | Reply

        • Hi, thanks for stopping by and sharing your wisdom and comments. I hope that you will make yourself at home.

          As a politically active individual, I sometimes find it hard to separate faith from politics. But the Holy Spirit has shown that anything that would tarnish the image of Christ that He is forming in me must take second place in my life.

          God bless!

          Comment by johnconstitution | May 11, 2012 | Reply

  7. Hi John, I will not share in detail now but I will leave a link that explains fully why God hates the act of Homosexuality, to say we should accept the wrong they do or anyone’s actions that are sinful, without rebuking them, is not about Love it’s more about us fearing rejection or apathy and is disobedience.

    Although I agree passionately with the need to be Loving and tolerant of others I cannot water down God’s warning that people who practice Homosexuality are in grave error and danger and are also putting others in danger. I believe in light of the Scriptures that God is not accepting of this type of behaviour the same as with all sin, but I do not in any way agree that He does not have compassion and Love for those who do wrong and we must too but we are called to rebuke and warn them with God’s Truth not our own agenda and we are to obey Him in this as His vessels and as part of the Body of Christ, not to do so as I shared is not Love and is disobedience. God’s Truth is very clear about this as He longs for all those who sin to repent and turn from evil and do good by The Holy Spirit’s empowering.

    To say we continue to sin after we are Born again of God’s seed is contradicting His Truth in the Scriptures ( see below ) and there are many more that confirm this Truth.

    1John 3:1-11 (9 ) No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God.

    Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/05/07/was-it-adam-and-eve-or-adam-and-steve/

    Christian Love from us both – Anne

    Comment by Freedomborn | May 9, 2012 | Reply

    • I am sorry, but I cannot agree with you entirely. You say, “… people who practice Homosexuality are in grave error and danger and are also putting others in danger.”, but the same is true of all sin. Each time we become aware of a person lying, are we then to rebuke them for the error of their ways?

      There is the Word of God, the Holy Spirit in the world, and creation itself (Rom 1:20) to rebuke the sinner.

      I see my role as humble guide, leading and loving the lost to God’s truth. If God wants me to start rebuking my family, friends, and co-workers, I’m sure that He will reveal that to me, but I just don’t see it that way.

      God bless,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 9, 2012 | Reply

      • We don’t condemn anyone John, but we do rebuke and warn them, only God knows a persons eternal destination, that is why we are not to judge this even with unbelievers, they may repent on their death bed, theirs will be a wasted life but they will escape through the flames. Yes of course we know as Christians because it is confirmed by the Holy Spirit in our hearts, so we have His assurance that we are a Child of God. Romans 8:16 & Hebrews 10:22-24

        We can’t reject Scripture just because we don’t agree with it, lying like all sin is not insignificant and needs to be rebuked, Satan is the Father of lies and if He gets a foothold in a persons life then one sin leads to another and if not repented of will lead to spiritual death. God tells us to rebuke those who are sinning and yes it is because we Love them that we do so, it is not kindness to watch someone hurt themselves and others and not warn them. God makes it very clear in the Scriptures and He never goes against His written word, the Holy Spirit does not look the other way when someone sins and if we are walking in the Spirit we will obey God’s written word not reject it because it does not agree with our agenda or what others think.

        We are not to call good what God calls evil or evil what God calls good and this is also True with those in the world, as Christians we are to share His Truth to the unsaved not a watered down version that they will accept because it agrees with the wrong they are doing. God tells us His Bride is to be pure and without spot or blemish and those in the world need to know and see this.

        Colossians 1:27-29 To whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. Whom we preach, warning every man, and teaching every man in all wisdom; that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus:

        Titus 2:11-12 For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men, Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world;

        2 Timothy 3:16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.

        Both Ron and myself are in agreement with God’s Truth and have shared it without wavering, if others choose to accept or reject it, we have assurance that we have obeyed God and His written word confirms it.

        Christian Love from both of us.

        Comment by Freedomborn | May 9, 2012 | Reply

        • Well, thank you for sharing those verses and for clarifying your position.

          God bless.

          Comment by johnconstitution | May 10, 2012 | Reply

      • Yes, actually, when I am aware that someone is lying or acting without integrity I do point to the error of their ways. I think lying is a sin that goes to the very heart of our relationship with God.

        Comment by UnrepentantCurmudgeon | May 11, 2012 | Reply

        • Lying? Perhaps, but I believe that lying is actually a secondary issue. After Adam and Eve ate of the fruit, the tried to hide from God.

          But before the fall, the serpent appealed to their pride, saying, “You will be as gods”. Pride, I believe, is Man’s most basic problem, thinking that his was is a good, or better, than God’s way.

          Comment by johnconstitution | May 11, 2012 | Reply

          • Your question above was whether one feels obliged to correct someone every time he lies. To that, my answer is “yes.” If your question now is “what is the most fundamental sin?” then I agree, it is pride. But that does not mean I let a liar go unrebuked.

            Comment by UnrepentantCurmudgeon | May 20, 2012 | Reply

        • To UnrepentantCurmudgeon: (sorry, we ran out of indent levels)

          Perhaps we have a difference in perspective. I believe that Christ’s work on the cross resulted in the sins of the whole world being forgiven. Not just the sins of those who believe, but all sins for all people, unbelievers too.

          Therefore, God, just as with believers, no longer holds the sins of an unbeliever against him or her. He no longer judges them, and I do not believe that He asks me to judge them either. Rather, He asks me to love them, even as Jesus loves me, unconditionally.

          We do not have to go to unbelievers with a message of condemnation, but rather, one of love.

          So, I do not point out the sins of an unbeliever, I point out the love of The God who loves them enough to die for them.

          Comment by johnconstitution | May 20, 2012 | Reply

  8. I do not think we should condemn anyone. However we make them know that the act it self is wrong. In dealing with situations such as these I love to think about dealing with my kids whenever they do something wrong. I correct them using certain correctional measures but it doesn’t mean that I hate them cos the next minute we are outside playing or doing some fun thing together. The trick here is to correct them and do not treat them like. Out casts or out laws. Let them know that they are loved. The bible says perfect love CASTS out FEAR(any form of evil)

    Comment by Jaelash | May 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Jaelash,

      Welcome to my blog, and thanks for commenting.

      I take a somewhat different view in these matters. Using your own example, it is your place to correct your own children because you are their parent. I do not believe it is our place to correct others to whom we are not parents however. I believe that is the job of their Heavenly Father, the Holy Spirit.

      Our place then, in my view is to lead others to Jesus, in love and humility, because we are subject to sin as much as they. Once a person has accepted The Lord, the Holy Spirit will let them know what He want them to change.

      God bless,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 8, 2012 | Reply

  9. Great post, and I believe that it is through exchanges like the one you had with the woman via twitter, that we have the opportunity to show Christ’s love, which you did gracefully. I think there are a couple of things for us as Christians to consider with matters like these:

    (1) I think we also must keep two things mind when following Christ. One is what does God say about certain acts, behaviors, and dispositions. The second is how we should treat each other and one another. It’s interesting how the first half of the ten commandments deal with our relationship with God, and the other half deals with our relationship with others.

    So applying these two things to the current situation, determining that an act is sin is one thing…but determining how we as Christians are to live and love in a world where we know and interact with people who participate in that act is another thing. Many times I think we as Christians focus most if not all of our energy on the former, while neglecting the latter. And the result becomes judging people and dealing with him like the Pharisees, as opposed to demonstrating the love of Christ.

    (2) The other point I wanted to make is that I think there’s a distinction between “how things were done” in the Old Testament, and the New Testament. I say this because once Jesus entered the world, everything changed. Of course I’m not saying that the Old Testament is not important or valid because it is. But what I am saying is that we as Christians or Christ followers need to rely on Jesus Christ as our model for how to relate to God, and how to relate to others. And I find it interesting that given that Jesus was 100% and 100% man, thus he had full understanding of God and of man, I don’t recall Him specifically addressing homosexuality. The OT does in a few places and Paul does, but to my knowledge, Christ does not. Christ focused on things like hypocrisy, greed, self-righteousness, pride, and he importance of other-centered love (for God, and for others). Jesus also brought the OT in proper relation with our lives.

    I heard a pastor say this once, and it really stuck with me: One of the things you see in the bible, and in particular the NT, is this theme that (1) some people who think that they are “right” with God turn out not to be, and (2) those who are judged to not be right with God end up being made right by or redeemed by God. So as Christians, I think it’s important that we are careful not to “rain God’s judgment” down on others, because that’s not our job. Our job, as Jesus says when he summed up the 10 commandments, is to love God with all our hearts, and to love others as ourselves. Of course this doesn’t mean that we are not to take a stance on things we believe to be in accord or not in accord with Christ’s teachings, but we also have to make sure we’re Christ-like in how we treat people, regardless if we agree with their acts or lifestyle.

    Comment by Justin Martin (@RsquaredComicz) | May 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Very well said Justin, and what a blessing!

      By the way, welcome to my blog. I hope you will make yourself at home.

      God bless you!
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 8, 2012 | Reply

    • It isn’t our job to “judge” the unbeliever, we do have an obligation to correct a believer….What we can do is TELL the unbeliever the TRUTH, and then pray for them…then it’s between them and their Creator…He doesn’t hate the sinner, He hates the sin!

      Comment by B wise | May 9, 2012 | Reply

      • Hi, thanks for stopping by, and thanks for your comment.

        Please make yourself at home, and God bless you.

        Comment by johnconstitution | May 9, 2012 | Reply

    • No problem, and thanks!

      Comment by Justin Martin (@RsquaredComicz) | May 9, 2012 | Reply

  10. John, You are right, God does not hate homosexuals; He does however hate the act. If God hated sinners, and homosexuals are sinners just like the rest of us, we would all be crispy bacon. This also includes the sin of hating your fellow man, homosexual or otherwise. Matthew 5:22 “But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; whoever insults his brother will be liable to the council; and whoever says, You fool! will be liable to the hell of fire.”
    I do seriously doubt Jennifer admires Jesus. If she, or any other atheist, admired Christ why would they not follow His teachings. Please do not tell me that they admire Him because He was a good moral teacher, He was not. You only have three choices, either He was delusional or He was a liar, either way He is not a good moral teacher, or He was who He claimed to be, God incarnate, if so then He was way more than just a good moral teacher. He was God, the architect of morality.

    What is really sad is the fact that some churches would rather appease the people of this world than God, such as telling us it’s ok to be a homosexual. There is no ambiguity is Romans 1:26-27, (NKJV) “26 For this reason God gave them up to vile passions. For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature. 27 Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men committing what is shameful, and receiving in themselves the penalty of their error which was due.”
    There is also no ambiguity in Leviticus 20:13, (NKJV), “If a man lies with a male as he lies with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination. They shall surely be put to death. Their blood shall be upon them.” God does hate the homosexual act just as He hates all sin., He hated sin in the Old Testament just as He hates all sin now. God does not change
    However make no mistake, whether you believe in God or not, whether you think you can reinterpret His laws to suit yourself or not, or whether you decide that God’s law doesn’t apply to you God will judge all of us according to His law, not man’s law, and woe to those who thought they could change the laws of God and not incur His wrath.

    Comment by in6days | May 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi, and welcome to my blog. Thanks for commenting, and I hope you will have a look around at my other posts. Perhaps their is something else on which God will move you to share.

      I will not dispute anything you say, but I would like to add a couple of things.

      First, our Lord Jesus died for the sins of the world. His death on the cross covers every last sin by every person ever born or still to be born.

      When we come to Jesus for salvation, we bring only two things. First, we bring a knowledge of our own moral depravity and utter helplessness of saving ourselves. No matter how good, how moral, no matter what, we are all lost before a holy and righteous God. Second, we bring a willingness to have Jesus give us the gift of eternal life. We don’t need to promise to sin no more, we don’t “do” anything. Only believe.

      Once we are saved, the Holy spirit will begin the process of cleansing us.

      Thanks again for posting, and God bless!
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 8, 2012 | Reply

  11. […] God Hates Homosexuals! (mylordisjesus.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Equal Rights « Earthpages.ca | May 8, 2012 | Reply

  12. God hates the sin but not the sinner.

    Comment by akismet-eeece6754fa4e746cb7a3b7e1d034fb3 | May 7, 2012 | Reply

    • That is true of course. But it is rather disconcerting to me to hear Christians single out certain sins, homosexuality, for example, when God hates ALL sins equally, because any sin is enough to keep us from God.

      For example, I never hear of Christians confronting one who has lied, or even is a habitual liar and telling them that if they continue they are going to hell.

      I wonder why not?

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 7, 2012 | Reply

      • Well, from the POV that I have had this discussion many times with gay friends who know my politics and my faith well, let me say that when the subject comes up I do always acknowledge that we all strive and fall short and are none of us perfect; “perfection” will come after the Resurrection only. In the meantime yes, I do tell them that God regards all sin as the same: a sign of humanity’s rebellion against God. After all, what was Adam and Eve’s great sin? Not even so much succumbing to the serpent, but hiding from and lying to God. Jesus said “be ye perfect”, meaning not that he thought that any mere human could succeed but that we all have the obligation to try, to acknowledge how and when we fall short, and to pick ourselves up each day and try again. Homosexuals face that challenge as does the compulsive gambler, the alcoholic, the spousal abuser and the professional politician.

        Comment by UnrepentantCurmudgeon | May 11, 2012 | Reply

        • Haha! I like the way you place the professional politician in the same group as the gambler, the alcoholic, and the spousal abuser. It shows that you have a proper perspective on current day politics.

          God bless ya!

          Comment by johnconstitution | May 11, 2012 | Reply

    • By the way, thanks for stopping by and adding your voice to the discussion.

      God bless you!

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 7, 2012 | Reply

  13. This is an an excellent post my friend. Let me hasten to say, “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” “If there is one without sin. Let him cast the first stone.” Jesus did not instruct us to pass judgement. He commanded us to; “Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” So those of us who have set up ourselves as Judge and Jury by the name of religion are the false prophets the Bible warns us about.

    Comment by Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com | May 6, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for your kind words Noel! Yes, you are right! We, none of us are without sin, so none is a legitimate judge. And isn’t it interesting that the One legitimate Judge said, “Neither do I condemn you”.

      As you say, we are to go into all the world and share this Good News with every creature!
      God bless you in The Lord,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 6, 2012 | Reply

  14. Hello: John, I enjoyed your post!

    Its a shame that there is Christians out there that tell people that God, hates them because of their sinful life style (I admit I once one of those Christians in my early 20’s) God has brought me a long way since then and I realized back then I didn’t really know God, instead I knew of the laws in the bible, which lead me into misconception that because God, hates the sin He, also hates the person as well. This surely is an attack from satan by using the ignorance of our mortal minds against us.

    All though all the blame doesn’t fall upon satan because we have the option to educate ourselves I do believe the issues with this is people are relying on other people’s teachings of the Bible and are not seeking God, for a second option.

    I know now since I have spiritually matured that God, doesn’t hate the person God, only hates the sin. Regardless God, still walks beside the sinners reaching out in hopes they will hear the knocking of Christ’s, love in their heart.

    In the end God’s Glory will shine upon the world even though satan has had his, fun with tarnishing Christianity’s reputation.

    God Bless Ya. John, have a wonderful Sunday afternoon
    -sk

    Comment by Slik (Daily Aspects) | May 6, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Slik, glad you stopped by to comment, and glad you enjoyed the post.

      Like you, I was also legalistic in my younger (spiritually speaking) days, so I understand it. I think, for myself at least, that part of the reason that it can be difficult to get out of is a Satanic appeal to pride.

      “Sure, I may not be a perfect Christian, but at least I’m not like Joe over there” is an attitude that has a lot of appeal to the flesh. Well, it took several years (yes, I can be stubborn!) but the Lord did cleanse me of that attitude.

      And yes, The Lord is still growing His Church, as a bride we may leave something to be desired as things are today, but one da we will be presented to our Lord perfect, and without blemish or spot. And until that day and for that day, I rejoice!

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 6, 2012 | Reply

  15. So…being gay is a sin after all. Gee, thanks for your kindness

    Comment by Antonio Escobosa | May 6, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, just as is lying. The Bible teaches that ALL have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. Our Lord did not treat adultery any differently than He treated any other, and neither should we.

      I have no kindness to offer other than the love and compassion of my Lord. The true kindness comes in the fact that Jesus offers all who believe a way to be cleansed of all sin and to live with Him forever.

      God loves you, accept that and His gift of eternal life.

      Comment by johnconstitution | May 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

