Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

Why Do So Few Christians Share Their Faith?

In answer to the question: 

“What do you think are the reasons why more Christians aren’t helping to spread the Good News? How can we encourage our brothers and sisters in Christ to share Jesus with their family, friends, & co-workers?”

I recently wrote a response for the “Not Ashamed Of The Gospel” blog, and I wanted to repost my response here. So, here it is. I would appreciate your comments.

I think there are peripheral reasons, but one central reason. One peripheral reason might be that we are taught that we never discuss religion or politics in polite company. As if letting someone know how they can have eternal life is somehow rude. I think society has made many such impositions on us so that Christians, for the most part, remain silent.

But I’ve been thinking about this a lot recently and I believe that God provided the central answer. We today are a lot like the Christians right after Jesus’ ascension, they met in private and prayed together, but they had no witness outside their own group.

And then came the day of Pentecost and they were all filled with the Holy Spirit. On that day alone, two thousand were saved. Later, in Acts 5 we read about Peter and John being threatened by the religious authorities, and their answer was, whether we should listen to men or to God, you be the judge.

Filled with the Spirit, these early believers were unstoppable. Filled with the Spirit, WE would be unstoppable too.

I am definitely interested in pursuing online and personal evangelistic methods, but even more, my heart desire is to fully surrender myself to the Lord that His Spirit fill me in such a way that I would be truly effective for Him.

And I am hoping that others will join me.

April 11, 2012 - Posted by | Discipleship, Evangalism | , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. I just wrote a post about this last Tuesday! I think when we really plug into God and love and adore Him–we can’t help but talk about Him. So, if people aren’t talking about Him, it’s because they aren’t as close with Him as they could be. They are putting other things first–their pride, their time, etc… Or perhaps they don’t really believe Jesus is who he says he is, or that he really does provide the answer/hope/salvation that he says. My post is at 17hourdays.com/exciting-news-please-share, if you are interested. (Not trying to be spammy! I just thought it was relevant to the conversation)

    Comment by Brittany | March 31, 2014 | Reply

    • Hi Brittany,

      Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to read my blog, and for your thoughtful comments. I am sure you are right. As I learn more about the deficiencies of my own walk with the Lord and begin to move toward a closer walk with Him, I realize just how “normal” my own level of commitment seems. We do put an awful lot of stuuf before Him, sadly.

      I also checcked out your link and read the post there, and also checked out the rest of your site and found it delightful! Thank you! I am now following your blog and look forward to your posts in the future.

      Thanks again, and God bless,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 31, 2014 | Reply

      • Thanks for the follow, John! I appreciate it!

        Comment by Brittany | March 31, 2014 | Reply

  2. I love to read your site,but why not use ….and the meaning of the Christ… Christ Jessus, ??

    Comment by Naseem Eman | November 24, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Naseem,
      I am always glad to listen to the suggestions that readers make, but I am not sure I understand what you mean. Could you explain further please? Thanks, and God bless!

      Comment by johnconstitution | November 25, 2013 | Reply

  3. As a missionary who goes around the marketplace providing the opportunity for people to share their faith, I’ve heard all sorts of reasons and rationale. And these are from marketplace leaders who are involved in ministries and mentor younger Christians. I’d love to connect with you on this subject and see how we can unite for the cause.

    Peace
    Todd
    The315project

    Comment by the315project | March 11, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Todd

      I am glad that you took the time to respond to this article!

      I am not sure what I could contribute, but I am definitely open to hearing your ideas and we can see what will become of it with the Lord’s blessing.

      We can continue our conversation here, or you can contact me at my email, whichever you prefer:
      johnconstitution@gmail.com

      God bless, and I look forward to hearing from you,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 11, 2013 | Reply

  4. Personally i believe people are afraid because they may get mocked or even isolated because of there opinion of Christianity.

    From experience I have found people become more intrigued than anything. I also find that the people who at 1st knock the whole belief end up being the ones who ask more questions.

    Comment by Nick Garfoot | March 4, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Nick, thanks for sharing! I’m sure your own experiences would be found to hold for others as well if they would simply share by faith and let God reap His harvest.

      God bless,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 5, 2013 | Reply

  5. They have a form of Godliness but deny the Power of The Holy Spirit shown by their actions based on error of God’s Truth because of their own fleshy understanding.

    God tells us His Children perish because of lack of knowledge God’s knowledge comes from His wisdom which we were not born with and need to ask for believing we received.

    Christian Love Anne.

    Comment by Freedomborn | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • I hear what you’re saying Anne, and this is an area where I need reinforcement. Thank you so much for your insights!

      God bless!

      Comment by johnconstitution | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  6. I’m still thinking about the comment that you left on the blog, John. It really is very convicting and I hope that I wouldn’t be the first one to get more motivated about sharing the truth with my family, friends, and even strangers. For me, sometimes it’s my fear of rejection or of not knowing what to say that gets in the way. I just have to overcome that fear and just follow my Lords Commandments.

    Comment by peterguirguis | April 11, 2012 | Reply

    • I know what you are saying Peter, I find this very convicting as well.

      I also find sharing difficult in many circumstances, whether for reasons of personality or external pressures such as societal, often I find myself moved to silence. But from everything I read in the Bible, this should not be.

      I will be finding the answers on my knees.

      Comment by johnconstitution | April 11, 2012 | Reply

      • Amen to that John, I’ll be joining you 🙂

        Comment by peterguirguis | April 11, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

