Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

We Are All “Broken Ones”

I was introduced to a wonderful music video by “The Tally Trio” this weekend called “The Broken Ones”.

But, who are the broken ones?  The seventeen year old girl in the video who has been beaten by her boyfriend, or perhaps by her father, and needle tracks up and down her arm is pretty obvious, but what of the immoral person, or the man who is embezzling from his company?  For that matter, what of the man who struggles with impure thoughts?  Or the person who has raised the pursuit of food to the point of near idolatry?  Are these not all broken ones too?

Yes, indeed.  In fact, until Jesus reached out to each of us and purchased us with His own blood, until He began His work of polishing us “diamonds in the rough” to a sparkling luster, we were all broken ones.

And now, Jesus has charged each of us to go into the world and find the broken ones, the lost and the confused, and to point them to Jesus.

I have thought a lot recently about the image of God shining through me.  In fact my two earlier posts have been re-blogs that deal with this very issue.

I love the line in the song, “She’s just doing what the One who died for her would do; Love the broken ones.”

I know that this is what the Lord has called me to do.  Has He perhaps called you to do the same?

March 12, 2012 - Posted by | Discipleship, Evangalism | , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Thanks a lot for sharing this post John. We are still broken. That is the only way God can use us.

    God bless you

    Comment by Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com | March 13, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, you are right. We *are* still broken.

      God bless!

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 25, 2012 | Reply

  2. Heartfelt Post, beautiful song.
    God Bless You!

    Comment by Lady Deidre | March 13, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi again John, I realised after I Reblogged your message I should have asked you first if that was all right to do so, I normally do when I can, but I think I was just so moved in my heart that I wanted to share your message with others and also Spotlight your Ministry.

    One thing that I try to share John is that God does not do evil to bring good out of it, the Scriptures tell us this is slander but He does bring good out of evil. He Loves us greatly He does not cause us to suffer or have hardship or even allows it willingly but knows it will happen because of sin and living in a fallen world and He uplifts and helps us through the Storm. We are moulded and shaped as we walk in the Fruit of The Spirit meaning Love.

    God will Disapline us by letting us go our own way like the Prodical son untill we come to our senses. Please John don’t think for a minute that I blame God for the mess I made of my life untill I came to heart repentance, He did not cause me to suffer, I did and others who sinned too and it was because of our evil flesh nature. God is Kind Kindness is part of Love and Love does not hurt which is evil those that are Loved even for good… because there is no good in evil.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Matthew 12:20 A bruised reed shall he not break, and smoking flax shall he not quench, till he send forth judgment unto victory.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Christian Love Anne.

    Comment by Freedomborn | March 13, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for sharing these Anne! I have recently begun to highlight all of God’s promises to us that I come across in my online Bible. You’ve just given me several new ones.

      God bless!

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 25, 2012 | Reply

  4. Reblogged this on Freedomborn … set free and commented:
    I would like to introduce you to John Constitution and share just a glimpse of his heart of Love for others, I hope you will take the time to get to know this Godly Man and be encouraged by his heart focus, this short video that he has chosen and his words reflect his Love and compassion for those who are hurting.
    Thank you John you are indeed an encouragement and support to those who have open hearts to hear.

    Comment by Freedomborn | March 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Anne,

      Thanks again for reblogging this article, and for your kind introduction on your site. I appreciate your kindness more than you knowl

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 25, 2012 | Reply

  5. Hi John , I’m crying you have touched my heart, I have suffered much in my life, some because of others sin, some because of my own, some because of life. My first husband was very violent, he bashed me the first time 3 days after we were married, I was pregnant and suffered a miscarriage but the baby was very weak too ( long story ) my husband had been tortured as a child and I had great compassion for him but after 8 years I could not cope anymore with the abuse,we were both unbelievers. I have forgiven him and I hope he forgave me, I hurt him too.

    I started and lead Christian weight control groups for 20 years, a large percentage of the woman who came to my groups like me had been molested or abused as Children or later in their lives sometimes both, they felt protected being big and as food is a natural relaxer that calms and relieves tension many used it to feel better with some it became a habit or addiction, mostly they had bad self images and some were addicted to the merry-go-round of diets, exercise etc but were also lacking self worth. I had been Bulimic for ten years but God delivered me when I chose to do it His way.

    My neighbour is a drug addict and alcoholic and uses everyone to meet her needs but she being a rape child was never wanted or Loved, who do we point the finger at ???

    Satan can temp us with bad thoughts or our focus can cause them, sadly our society promotes lustful thinking but so can our unmet needs. Thoughts are sinful when held onto and acted on, this is why we must make every thought captive to Christ in other words through His empowering we put them to death and in doing this our thoughts will reflect Jesus’ if we don’t ‘put them to death, they can lead to sin as Jesus pointed out to those who was not rejecting their adulterous thoughts but holding onto them.

    Jesus did not condemn the woman caught in Adultery but He did say go and sin no more.. I believe she was the women that washed his feet with her tears ? this woman had sinned greatly but even though she knew Jesus would not condemn her she was still greatly grieved that she had hurt Him… God does not want us to suffer guilt that is why Jesus died for us so we would be set free from the control or slavery of sin and the shame and punishment that results from it. When we come to heart repentance and are Born again He will heal us of these.

    Christian Love Anne.

    .

    Comment by Freedomborn | March 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Anne,

      I was just reading this morning in the book of Exodus at Ex 6:6-7 where God promises Moses to deliver Israel from the oppression of the Egyptians and marveling at how that parallels His promise to deliver us from the bondage to the world system through our Lord Jesus Christ.

      I am constantly amazed as I learn more deeply of the freedom that we have in Jesus.

      God bless you,
      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 25, 2012 | Reply

  6. Thank you for sharing the video was a nourishment to my soul I recently experienced God, crushing my pride which in returned allowed me to have a true and sincere heart to heart with God, without hiding behind any masks which in return allowed me to experience Gods’ pure and true desire to seek the diamond in the rough…

    Comment by Slik (Daily Aspects) | March 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for sharing Slik. You and I have a lit in common, so I can really relate to what you are saying as I have many of the same struggles you do.

      God bless!

      Comment by johnconstitution | March 25, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

