Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

God’s Forgiveness Is Complete In Jesus

A few months ago, after much prayer, I began what I refer to as a mountaintop experience with the Lord.  I was always singing and praising God and temptation was the easiest thing to avoid.

I believe as a result of further prayer, this time for the Lord to reveal in me something He wants me to change, that mountaintop experience came to an end.

I felt this was the Lord’s doing, though I did not understand why though I knew He had my good at heart.  One result of losing that mountaintop experience was that I found myself giving in to temptation.  It was nothing blatant, not at first, but only delaying briefly before pushing the temptation away and seeking the Lord’s righteousness to replace the temptation.

But as it always is with temptation, that was only the beginning.  The camel’s nose was in the tent, and slowly and inevitably, he (the devil) began to insinuate his lies and trickery into my thinking.

Soon, I found myself allowing tempting thoughts to linger longer.  not long after that, I found myself seeking temptation and beginning to justify “just a little sin”.  After all, with all the temptation I find myself under, surely a little sin is understandable.  After all, it would be only a little taste, right?

And that is how it always begins.  It’s just a little taste at first.  but then it’s a little more, and before long I would find myself languishing in it longer and longer.  and all the while convinced that I’m doing the best I can under the circumstances.

In the past I have always imagined that I was apart from God because, as everyone knows, God cannot tolerate sin.  And this is true, He cannot.  What I never took into account though is that Jesus has already forgiven ALL of my sin and God never moves away from me.  It is only I who have moved away from Him.  Satan will whisper about how God must be disappointed in me, that He must be disgusted with me.  Of course, the worse I felt, the more I would sin, spiraling ever downward.

Now I know, my Lord is NEVER disappointed in me, my sins are forgiven and I am holy in His sight, always!  The only one that moved was me.

This descent into temptation has been a real learning experience for me.  I have been able to see myself as I let temptation have more and more power over me and finally understand how I have had periods of time in the past where I was apart from the Lord for years at a time.

Now I understand that I don’t need to go down that path any more.  I can return to my Lord at the first sign of temptation or after the temptation has begat sin in my life.  But why would I want to wait?  It is the Lord that satisfies my every hunger and thirst.

January 28, 2012 - Posted by | Forgiveness, God's Grace, Prayer | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. […] God’s Forgiveness Is Complete In Jesus (mylordisjesus.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Don’t Tolerate Temptation! Submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. « bummyla | March 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. I know what you mean about coming off a “mountain-top experience” and falling into patterns of old sin. Thank you for the reminder that God is the only thing that will ever fill that yearning in our hearts and that I can seek him as soon as I feel tempted.
    – Aimee

    Comment by Aimee | February 4, 2012 | Reply

    • I think it must be one of the devil’s favorite tricks to convince us that we can only come to God when we are “right” with Him. I’m not even sure I know what that means. I do know, or at least I’m learning, that God will always hear my prayer, especially one where I am calling out for help.

      Comment by johnconstitution | February 8, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hello John! It is nice to hear from you again. Jesus is always with us. His promise is true–He will never leave you nor forsake you. Call upon Him when you are weak and call upon Him when you are strong. He is just a prayer away.

    Today I would like to leave with Number 6:24-26

    24The LORD bless thee, and keep thee:

    25The LORD make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee:

    26The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.”

    Thanks for sharing

    Comment by Noel Williams | January 28, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Noel,

      I’m always glad to see you’ve stopped by. I always find your comments inspirational and a blessing. God bless you!

      Comment by johnconstitution | January 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

