Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

Jesus Take the Wheel

First of all, I would like to thank Bernadette for her wonderful post, Jesus Take the Wheel, and for introducing me to the song of the same name by Carrie Underwood.

I read her post this morning and commented on it, but in thinking about it afterwards, I realized that I have more to say, and I wanted to share it here.

First, as I mentioned in my comment on Bernadette’s post, the song, “Jesus Take The Wheel”, is the story of my walk with the Lord.   I’ve had some truly mountaintop experiences in my walk, but eventually things begin to slip, and eventually, I find myself on that sheet of invisible black ice, out of control and crying out to the Lord for help.  Or to use Carrie Underwood’s words, “Jesus, please take the wheel!”.

The fact is, I was on one of those mountaintops a couple of months ago.  My heart was filled with constant songs of praise and I was talking with the Lord constantly throughout the day.  But slowly, that experience began to slip from my grasp, and temptation began to be a more frequent visitor in my thoughts.  At first, I was zealous to sweep those temptations away, but over time it becomes easier to listen to them, and now I occasionally find myself toying with the idea of listening to them.

There is no black ice on the road, not yet.  But the weather is getting colder and it’s beginning to look like rain, or maybe even snow.

When I read Bernadette’s post this morning I seemed to be looking into a mirror.  I could clearly see the progression from mountaintop to black ice road, which is probably where I would have ended up again if the cycle had not been broken.  The Lord, having broken the cycle, has offered me a unique opportunity for reflection.  Through reflection, I am sure I will be able to discern what I need to be doing differently so these yo-yo like shifts are ended permanently!

And I know that at the heart of what I need to do is the prayer, though not in desperation, “Jesus, please take the wheel!”.  Now, to make sure I don’t take the wheel back.

January 11, 2012 - Posted by | God's Grace, Knowing Jesus, Prayer, Uncategorized | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Hi John,

    Greetings to you in the mighty name of Our Lord Jesus Christ!

    Nice to read your post. At times even I used to get tempted but I memorize Psalms 73 chapter. As Paulette said, Its really awesome line. “Now, to make sure I don’t take the wheel back.”

    God Bless!

    Comment by Clement | April 1, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Clement, thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Lately I’ve been reading the book, “Not A Fan”, by Kyle Idleman. It is a great, and very challenging book. It attempts to separate Jesus’ fans from His true followers, who die to themselves daily and live for Him.

      Check it out, it has been a real blessing in my Christian walk.

      Comment by johnconstitution | April 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. Wonderfull Post John, thank you for the link back to my post as well I really appreciate it, I am glad that my post held something valuble for you

    God Bless

    Comment by Bernadette | January 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Bernadette,

      Thank you, and you’re welcome! I thank God for your post. As always, God’s message to me came at just the right time. It is wonderful that He can use us to bless others.

      God bless you,

      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | January 11, 2012 | Reply

  3. John I read your post and I understand where you are coming from. I would like to encourage you to hold on to God’s unchanging hands. Here are the lyrics to a very popular song:

    “All to Jesus I surrender;
    All to Him I freely give;
    I will ever love and trust Him,
    In His presence daily live.
    Refrain:
    I surrender all,
    I surrender all;
    All to Thee, my blessed Savior,
    I surrender all.
    All to Jesus I surrender;
    Humbly at His feet I bow,
    Worldly pleasures all forsaken;
    Take me, Jesus, take me now.
    All to Jesus I surrender;
    Make me, Savior, wholly Thine;
    Let me feel the Holy Spirit,
    Truly know that Thou art mine.
    All to Jesus I surrender;
    Lord, I give myself to Thee;
    Fill me with Thy love and power;
    Let Thy blessing fall on me.
    All to Jesus I surrender;
    Now I feel the sacred flame.
    Oh, the joy of full salvation!
    Glory, glory, to His Name!”

    God bless.

    Comment by Noel Williams | January 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Noel,

      Thanks for commenting, I love that song.

      I think I need to continue to dig deeper into the Bible and to fully understand and accept God’s love and acceptance of me. Intellectually, I can ask the question, why would anyone walk away from that, and yet, on occasion I find myself drifting away.

      God bless you,

      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | January 11, 2012 | Reply

  4. Hi John,

    I really enjoyed this post! 🙂 What a comfort to know, that if or when I ever get on that slippery slope, Jesus is right there to “take the wheel”, which He should have had in the first place! Also, as you said, “Now, to make sure I don’t take the wheel back.” God bless!

    Paulette

    Comment by pbus1 | January 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Paulette,

      Yes, even if we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself (2 Tim 2:13), is a wonderful comfort, especially to those of us who struggle at times. May Jesus always be in control.

      Thanks for coming by, and God bless you always!

      John

      Comment by johnconstitution | January 11, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

