Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

Random Thoughts On Food, Love, And Obedience

I have tried to come up with a blog topic for days but have been unable to come up with anything  coherent that I could write about.  The problem is, I have had several things churning through my mind, so no one thing will bubble to the surface and present itself as a single topic.

So, I have decided to just share some of my thoughts as a blog post.

Firstly, as some of you may already know, I have recently completed a three-day fast, which was the topic of my last post.  But the spiritual lessons did not end with the first fork fulll of food to enter my mouth last Tuesday evening.  Far from it!  In fact, I am learning more each day about the Lord, about my body, and about dependence.

First, my body is the temple of the Holy Spirit and is not my own, but was purchased with the precious blood of Christ. ( 1 Cor 6:19-20, 1 Pet 1:19)  Therefore, I am to glorify God in my body and in my spirit, which are God’s.  My body is not my own, but God has given me stewardship over it.  I need to learn to treat my body with the respect due a possession of my Lord.  I need to feed my body with good and nourishing foods, and to refrain with foods (or quantities of food) that are not healthy for my body.  I see doing this as a form of obedience to the Lord.

Another thing while on the topic of food, sometimes, especially at work, I will use food as a stress reliever.  In other words, I depend on food to deal with stress, when I should be relying on my Lord.  A minute or two of prayer and fellowship with the Lord will always be better than a handful of nuts or a granola bar, and it’s fewer calories to boot!

As much as I loke talking about food it’s time I moved on or I will have to change the title of this post.

So, when I think of Jesus’ love for me I am completely overwhelmed by it.  It is difficult to fathom a love so deep that one would endure what Jesus endured for me.  If someone blindfolded me and slapped me and spit on me and insulted me, and I knew that they would soon subject me to torture that would lead to my death, knowing that I had the power to stop it, I certainly would not endure such treatment.

But my Savior did.

My Savior did that, even knowing that with a wave of His hand every one of His tormentors would have fallen dead at His feet, because if He had not, I would have no means of salvation, no means of knowing His love for me.  Is it any wonder then that when I am alone in prayer that I kneel as if at my Saviors feet?  Almighty God, creator of heaven and earth, Lord of billions of galaxies and trillions of stars gave everything for my salvation.  How can I give Him less than my everything as a minuscule token of thanksgiving?

Here is another.  Christmas is just passed and we all celebrated the birth of Jesus.  And every year I have the same thoughts of God in flesh.  As astounding as the idea is of God, the almighty God, in human flesh, even more, how astounding is the idea of God in the body of a helpless baby?  I seem to be nearly able to comprehend God in an adult body, but god, a helpless babe is asking too much of this limited brain!  Gods sacrifice on our behalf did not start with the events that led up to Jesus’ crucifixion, it started with Jesus’ birth!

January 8, 2012 - Posted by | God's Grace, Godliness, Uncategorized, Worship | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. This is a very good random post John! I especially like this: “Gods sacrifice on our behalf did not start with the events that led up to Jesus’ crucifiction, it started with Jesus’ birth!” That statement is gospel. Jesus’ birth was a signal of great things to come. Thanks for sharing. God bless.

    Comment by Noel Williams | January 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Noel,

      Thanks for your encouraging comments! It is difficult to comprehend a love so amazing, so complete, as God’s love for us, isn’t it?

      Comment by johnconstitution | January 8, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

