Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

Fast? Or Just Hungry?

Along with talk about fasting on a couple of blogs that I frequent, I realized that God had been speaking to me, albeit, very quietly, about fasting for a few months.

A few months ago I had a medical procedure that required a 24 hour fast.  Part of the fast occurred with me at work, and I was surprised at how easy it was to not eat when I knew that I was not able to.  This surprised me.  Prior to that time, I had always had a very difficult time not indulging in snacks at work, particularly in response to stressful situations.  Probably 90% of the time, snacks at work had nothing to do with nourishment, and a lot to do with dealing with stress.

This was not a healthy situation, not nutritionally, and certainly not spiritually!  I was relying on nuts and granola bars to give for me what the Holy Spirit longed to give.

Saturday evening was New Years Eve, and I had my first fast all figured out, or so I thought.  I felt that I had consulted God on this and I also felt that God wanted me to fast.  I was certainly willing to do as He asked.

Since the next day was New Year’s Day and my wife and I had already planned breakfast, I did not want to start on January 1, but Monday was a work holiday, so I could do a one day fast and not have to worry about work on Tuesday.

But then, Sunday morning came (New Year’s Day) and we went to Church before breakfast, as was our habit.  While there, the Lord was unmistakably speaking to me, and I quickly became convinced that if I were to do His will with my fast, it had, in effect, already begun after dinner the previous evening.  Not only that, but it would not be a one day fast, but three.

I swallowed hard and agreed.  I would do the fast God’s way rather than mine.

when we arrived home from Church, Alice did a few things around the house, and I began breakfast, also a Sunday tradition with us.  It was not until we were ready to sit down that Alice realized that I had only prepared one breakfast.  So, that is when I told her.

Sunday was an uneventful day.  We went about with our regular lives with the exception that I did not eat.  Monday, the same thing.  Both days were pretty relaxing, and I have to admit, until Monday evening, two full days into my fast, I didn’t have any sensation of hunger at all, even though my entire dietary intake consisted of water, herbal tea, and an occasional glass of diluted fruit of vegetable juice.  Finally, on Monday evening though, I did begin to experience a sensation of emptiness.

During the first two days of the fast, I had ample time to read from the scripture and to commune with the Lord.  But Tuesday was a little different.  Admittedly, it was not a normal work day in that I did not have to prepare breakfast, so I added that saved time to the time I usually reserve for Bible reading and prayer.  But still,there is a schedule to keep, and once at work, commitments that must be met.

I was not particularly hungry when I awoke on Tuesday, nor during my prayer time.  But within an hour or so of arriving at work, I was experiencing some fairly intense hunger pains.  It was amazing though, as soon as I would begin to speak to the Lord to assure Him of my commitment to finish His fast, the hunger pains began to subside. That was a pretty clear message to me that I should be relying on the Lord more and on self medication with food less.

Overall, the spiritual, emotional, and physical lessons I learned during this, my first fast, far outweighed any discomfort I may have felt.  I find myself looking forward to the next time the Lord calls on me to fast.  I only wonder, will it be another three-day fast?  Or seven?  Or twenty-one?  Only God knows at the moment, but I’m sure He will make me aware of what He wants me to do when the time comes.

January 5, 2012 - Posted by | Christian, Spiritual Commentary, Uncategorized | , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Hey John! Thanks for stopping by my blog and congrats to you on completely your three day fast with the Lord’s help! Isn’t it amazing!!! You and I did the same thing on Jan. 1, went to church following your Sunday morning routine and just knew during service that you began your fast! It is so true how you pray to God to fill you up and get you through the day and He does. I remembered working with a young lady from India and she was fasting and I said to her I could never do that I love food wayyyy too much and here I am fasting for 21 days! I am on day 10 and I am very proud of myself. I told Bernadette that she can definitely do it! I have to give her some of the sites I used for recipes but this is an awesome gift that Daniel left us and a great lesson to prepare us for the relationship we are truly missing out on if we aren’t already close to our God. Fasting has definitely drawn me closer to Him and I thank you for sharing this post! I saw that you had a hard time coming up with a topic recently, here’s an idea, how did you get back into your food routine after the fast? Did you ease into it or did you go crazy? Be blessed

    Comment by princessnadielala | January 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi,

      Thanks for coming by and for following this blog. And I really appreciate your comments. I have thought about doing a followup to my fasting post, with your encouragement, I think I probably will. Thank you!

      I’ve been following your 21 day fast progress on your site. Halfway there must feel pretty good!

      My wife and I have been changing our diets over time. Today, with the exception of fish we are probably 90% vegan. Alice will not eat any meat (other than fish), I tend to be a little bit looser, I will occasionally have chicken or turkey, usually in a sandwich.

      Comment by johnconstitution | January 11, 2012 | Reply

  2. Hello John,

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog, and for commenting. I look forward to the fellowship. I find that fasting with a specific purpose, to be helpful also. The word says, “And He said unto them, This kind can come forth by nothing, but by prayer and fasting.” In this instant, the disciples were puzzled as to why they were unable to cast out a “dumb” spirit. Setting oneself apart to be in the presence of the Lord, reading His Word, and fasting and praying, causes us to hear from the Lord, and to have power with God. God bless, as you continue to seek to know His will for your life!

    Paulette

    Comment by pbus1 | January 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Paulette,

      And thank you for stopping by and commenting. I hope you always find blessing in your reading.The subject of fasting is a big one, for sure, and one that I suspect the Lord will be acquainting me with throughout the year. I look forward to the lessons I will learn and to growing closer in relationship to Him.

      May you be blessed in al that you do.

      Comment by johnconstitution | January 8, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi Aimee,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your comments. I am glad that you took encouragement from my post on fasting. One thing I can say, after having done this fast, I am still taking lessons from it. The greatest is the degree to which my flesh desires food as a means of comfort or stress management, even over prayer and fellowship with God.

    For months I have been struggling with the fact that my body is the temple of the Holy Spirit and that I am not my own, I have been bought by the blood of Jesus. there are times that I am convicted that my use of food can only be seen as abusive.

    I have not mastered my fleshly desire for food yet, so I am sure there will be fasts in the future. But I am excited that the Lord is working with me in this regard in order to bring my body into submission to Him.

    Comment by johnconstitution | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the encouraging post. I’ve never done a fast before, but it seems like a great way to learn experientially about my dependence on God. After reading about yours, I think I will pray about doing one.

    So glad I found your blog!
    – Aimee

    Comment by Aimee | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  5. Thanks Noel! Yes, exactly, the devil tries to distract when I am already required to devote much of my energy in non-spiritual directions just because of the demands my job puts on me. That leaves me more vulnerable if I am not paying attention.

    Little by little, I’m learning though.

    Comment by johnconstitution | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  6. Excellent post John! Did you notice where the enemy tried to distract? Your job. Amazing things happen when we trust God. Thanks for sharing. God bless.

    Comment by Noel Williams | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  7. Awesome post John, I have decided to to the Daniel fast where you still eat but only fruit and veg and water, at first i was going to to it for only 1 week, but one of the people that follow my blog mentioned that if i trust God to carry me through this for 1 week I can just as well trust him for 3… she had a good point. However if God has different plans I am sure he will let me know.

    Comment by Bernadette | January 5, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Bernadette. I believe that being open to the Lord’s leading is the most important thing in fasting, and after that, faith. If we are not doing the fast that the Lord wants, then we are likely ding it for our own reasons, and our faith is misplaced.

      God bless you in all that you do!

      Comment by johnconstitution | January 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

