Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

Where You Go, I’ll Go

During my time of prayer and meditation this morning I was reading through a passage in Ephesians that relates to a particular topic I have struggled with.  I asked my Lord to give me insight into this passage that I might begin to answer some of the questions I have struggled with.  As I continued in meditation it became clear to me that the Lord was not going to give an answer to my questions, at least, not directly as I had asked.

Instead, I found myself asking to know where He would lead me today, and that He would light my path that I be able to see His footsteps in order to follow them.

In other words, my Lord is not prepared to open to me knowledge that I am unprepared to handle.  He will lead me, as a loving Father leads His child, in the path that I need to follow today.  He will light my path so that I am able to see where He is leading, but only a step at a time.

This reminded me of the song by Chris Tomlin, “I Will Follow”.  The song starts off with these lyrics:

Where you go, I’ll go 
Where you stay, I’ll stay 
When you move, I’ll move 
I will follow…

These lyrics remind me of the ‘step by step’ way that my Lord leads me.  With my hand in His, He leads me always towards true holiness, and at a pace where I can keep up and not be overwhelmed.  But even so, thanks to my sinful flesh which I must carry around for yet a little while, I can be distracted.  I can look away from where the Lord is leading and stumble, perhaps even fall.

If you have followed my blog, you know that I’ve been down that road before, and I have no wish to repeat that costly (in terms of lost spiritual growth and maturity) mistake.  So, even when I feel like straining ahead, I remain thankful for my Lords loving and restraining hand.

I will follow You, yeah.  I will follow You, yeah.

December 27, 2011 - Posted by | Discipleship, Godliness, Uncategorized | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Excellent post John. That certainly was not hard to digest. I thank God for giving me the opportunity to read it. Where ever i find good food I tarry. Therefore, I will return. Happy New Year!

    Comment by Noel Williams | December 31, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for your kind comments Noel, and thank you for following my blog. I hope you will find blessing in my future posts, as I expect I will find in yours as well.

      God bless you, and Happy New Year!

      Comment by johnconstitution | December 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. What an awesome post and WHAT an AMAZING song, I am going to post this as a comment on my Post I AM READY this song describes exactly how I feel at this moment, this is exactly what I needed to read thank you. This post is such a blessing

    Comment by Bernadette | December 27, 2011 | Reply

    • I can’t describe my amazement right now, how our Lord touched two people, literally half a world apart, to write two blog posts at about the same time that so perfectly compliment one another and that each would bless and confirm the other in such a powerful way.

      As I wrote earlier in my comment on your post, our God is an AWESOME God!

      Anyone who is reading this, I strongly encourage you to also read Bernadettes post “I Am Ready” at http://tinkerbelleandme.com/2011/12/27/i-am-ready/ for a blessing. These two posts were written and posted within a short span of time by Bernadette and I, one living in the U.S., the other in Africa, without each others knowledge or influence, and yet (for us, at least) they are so complimentary as to be uncanny!

      Comment by johnconstitution | December 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

