Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

The Road Back

This post is part three of a planned three-part story of my testimony and Christian walk. In the first chapter, A Sinner Finds Grace, I wrote about how I came to know the Lord and the miraculous healing that I received at the time. In the second  chapter, Journey Into Darkness, I wrote about how I slipped away from a life in the Spirit and into a life lived in the flesh. In this, the last chapter, I am writing about God’s seeking and finding His lost sheep, and how He brought me back into His fold.

As I wrote at the end of the last chapter, the third most important event of my life occurred in may 2009.  That’s when I lost a very good job and the Lord finally got my attention after so many years of me living by my own strength.

It was obvious right from the start that this was a bad time to be out of work.  Here in California, the unemployment rate was climbing past 12% and people at the employment office said that the average time of unemployment was from 6-9 months.  In my case, it turned out to be 15 months.

Also right from the start, I was convinced that God wanted my attention.  I began to feel conviction over our life apart from God.  I told Alice about my feelings and said I thought it was time we started going back to Church.  She readily agreed!  I took Alice’s agreement that God was in this as it seemed He was speaking to both of  us.

We agreed on a Church and started attending their Sunday morning worship.  This was a large Church, with a few hundred people at the service we attended.  This Church was  perfect place to hide out, but this is not what God wanted for us and we both started to feel dissatisfied.

We decided we’d need to start looking for a Church again and decided this time to start close to home.  In fact, we started at the closest Church to our home.  That was a neighborhood Nazarene Church.  Being a very small Church, we were noticed right away, and had been introduced to no less than ten people before we went in to service.  There would be no hiding out in this Church, that was for sure!

We were fed and nurtured, and as soon as we were ready, there were ample opportunities for us to feed and nurture others.  This little Church is our home to this day, and the Lord has grown us both tremendously!  But, I am getting ahead of myself.

So, not only did God have my attention, He also had us in a place where He could speak to us in a very personal way.

Naturally, seeking work was a very high priority for me.  almost as high as seeking God’s will.  I spent a lot of time reading the Bible, praying, and meditating during daily walks with our dog.

About six months after starting at our Church, our pastor challenged his congregation during one sermon asking, “Are you willing to ask the Lord to do whatever it takes to bring you into a closer relationship with Him?”.  The moment he asked the question, my eager response was, “Yes please, Lord!”.  I was ready!

It was another six months before I finally found employment.  During that time though we were short enough on cash that we were able to buy food, pay our mortgage payment and utility bills, and precious little else.  For the rest, we relied on the Lord.  By that time, I was no longer worried about finding work, I knew that a job would come in the Lord’s time.  We trusted in Him, and our relationship with Him not only blossomed, it grew tremendously!

There were periods of months at a time when I had not so much as a phone call or email in response to my resumes and queries.  And then, within a week, I was interviewing at two companies that seemed highly interested in me.  Alice and I looked at one another and pretty much knew that this period of want was about to come to an end.  We both felt that God had already picked the company I would end up in, I just needed to do my part and go to my interviews ready.  This process lasted nearly a month, and in the end I was handed a job offer by one of the best companies in Silicon Valley for someone in my field.

Praise the Lord!  Thank You Jesus!

I have been at my company for sixteen months now, longer than I was unemployed, and I am loving the work I do.  It is quite demanding, but quite rewarding at the same time.

Even though my available time to pray and read the Bible has diminished considerably from when I was seeking work, my relationship with Him has continued to bloom and grow.  I realized how badly I had wasted all those years away from God, and have dedicated myself to never allow that in my life again.

Recently our pastor went to a 30 year reunion at the Christian university he attended.  He told us about an event that took place his first year there.  In Chapel, his Pastor ask him along with the other students to imagine God giving them a package containing God’s plan for their entire lives.  They were then asked if they would unconditionally accept God’s package.  In other words, would they commit to following God no matter what He wanted them to do, or where He wanted them to go?

The more I learn about God and about having a relationship with Him, the more I realize how little I know.  But I am ready to make that commitment.

December 27, 2011 - Posted by | Discipleship, God's Grace | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. What an awesome story John, very inspirational, I have actually been playing around with a new blog post Idea and it is all about me being ready to do whatever it is, I just know deep down that I am ready. God Bless you, I was actually wondering whether or not I would do the post but I think your post is confiration that I must.

    Comment by Bernadette | December 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you Bernadette for your encouraging comments!

      I always look forward to your posts, and now I am especially looking forward to the one you are planning. Be prepared for many new blessings from the Lord as you take the first steps in this new commitment.

      Comment by johnconstitution | December 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

