Worship The Lord Jesus

In Jesus Is True Joy!

Would They Have Called Me “Christian”?

This morning at worship, our Pastor asked a very pointed question.  He was using the Book of Acts, ch. 11 for an illustration (read especially, verse 26):

Now those who had been scattered by the persecution that broke out when Stephen was killed traveled as far as Phoenicia, Cyprus and Antioch, spreading the word only among Jews.  Some of them, however, men from Cyprus and Cyrene, went to Antioch and began to speak to Greeks also, telling them the good news about the Lord Jesus.  The Lord’s hand was with them, and a great number of people believed and turned to the Lord.

 News of this reached the church in Jerusalem, and they sent Barnabas to Antioch.  When he arrived and saw what the grace of God had done, he was glad and encouraged them all to remain true to the Lord with all their hearts.  He was a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and faith, and a great number of people were brought to the Lord.

26 Then Barnabas went to Tarsus to look for Saul,  and when he found him, he brought him to Antioch. So for a whole year Barnabas and Saul met with the church and taught great numbers of people. The disciples were called Christians first at Antioch.  –  Acts 11:19-26

The question he asked was, if the “Antiochians” had followed us around as they did the disciples of Christ, would they decide that we should be called “Christians”  In other words, would the Light of Jesus show forth from us as it did from them?  Or is our light hidden from the world?

Our Pastor was actually preaching from 1 Peter:

Dear friends, I urge you, as foreigners and exiles, to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul.  Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.  1 Peter 2:11,12

So, the question asked by Pastor remains, do the people who know me think of me as “that Christian guy”?  Or do they just say, “Oh yeah, that John guy is pretty cool!”?

Or, to put it another way, into which Kingdom do I fit better, the Kingdom of God?  Or the Kingdom of this world?

October 24, 2011 - Posted by | Christian, Evangalism, Godliness, Spiritual Commentary | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. […] Would They Have Called Me Christian? And finally, seven blog sites that have influenced me: […]

    Pingback by The 7×7 Link Award « Worship The Lord Jesus | December 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. I try to pray each morning that His light shines through me so that others may know his Grace and his Mercy. I am still a work in progress, but I certainly hope, in times of need that light is bright enough for someone to see.

    Comment by samishindian | November 4, 2011 | Reply

    • Amen to the “work in progress” comment. It seems every day I find at least one new way to please my Lord by turning another part of my life over to Him and submitting to His will.

      I am currently trying to focus on a short passage of scripture and really learn it and incorporate it into my life. My current focus is 1 Peter 2:11-17, which also happens to be my Pastor’s sermon text from last Sunday. I will focus on a passage until I feel I have gleaned something from it, then move to another. I think my next focus will be Psalms 37:1-7 (or thereabouts).

      It is my hope that as I immerse myself in His word that the aroma of Christ’s love will be a blessing to others.

      Comment by johnconstitution | November 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] Would They Have Called Me “Christian”? (mylordisjesus.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Astonished to Learn of Jesus 100111 « Mennonite Preacher | November 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for linking my article.

      To my readers, “Astonished To Learn Of Jesus 100111” is a very good read that I would recommend to anyone.

      Comment by johnconstitution | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. Thank you for linking my article in yours. I really appreciate it!

    I hope that you are enjoying my blog, and will continue to do so in the future. I have what I hope will be some interesting and intriguing topics to explore.

    Comment by johnconstitution | October 25, 2011 | Reply

  5. […] Would They Have Called Me “Christian”? (mylordisjesus.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Who Do You Think You Are? Basis for Identity and Values « Teh's Tales, Ian's Yarns | October 24, 2011 | Reply

  6. Great words, and certainly something to consider. I, for one, surely hope the people who know me think of me as a “Christian.”

    Comment by Michael Ford II | October 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by and reading Michael, and more, thanks for taking the time to comment. I find it difficult in some situations to share my faith, or to display it in public ways. While I would not say my light is hidden under a bushel, it is not often prominently displayed on a lamp-stand either.

      But I am on a spiritual journey that I know will end with the Lord welcoming me home to glory.

      It’s been nice meeting you, and God bless you!

      Comment by johnconstitution | October 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

